h1

Giddy as a schoolboy

12 November, 2013

Oh boy, oh boy, oh boyo! Via the wonderful medium they call Facebook, I’ve found a small group of people who want to try this roleplaying thing. How could I refuse?

I’ve been trying to gauge their preferences and interests, and it seems they are hooked on the fantasy thing, so your standard run-of-the-mill off-the-shelf stuff.

I was torn between Dungeon World and Burning Wheel. But I managed to get them hooked on story now gaming, then I’d like to give them some Apocalypse World in another skin than fantasy. Plus I haven’t actually run DW before.

So, Burning Wheel it is. That grand old lady with the huge handbag laden with bricks. She looks like your standard fantasy RPG fare. She’s far from it.

I’m going to run a demo scenario to highlight the core of BW, and hopefully they’ll like and ask for more.

3 comments

  1. Burning Wheel is a bit complex choice dont you think?

    I would probably choose Dungeon World or Red Box Hack or even Mouse Guard maybe.

    Having said that, I’m sure it’ll be great and I am looking forward to hear more about your game :D


    • If you play with the whole package, yes, but I’m not doing that. Only playing with the basics, so we’re actually below Mouse Guard in rules complexity.

      So: hubs and spokes only! And then I might throw in Steel tests as well. I’m even not using character advancement for this one-shot.

      Main things too get across: Intent. Beliefs and Artha. Tests and vs. tests. And that roleplaying is a conversation, where you make stuff up.


      • Sounds great!

        I think the last message is the most important :D



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 212 other followers

